An Online Nonmination: The Liebster Award

liebster-awardI have been honored to have recently received the nomination for the Liebster award from Karen Brown who blogs over here at Stooping for Manna. And let me just take a moment to say how encouraging she has been to me throughout these busy months of September, October, AND November. She asked me to guest post for her in the grand ole month of October for her Write 31 Days series. If you want a friend who is going to cheer you on and encourage you to keep writing, then Karen is certainly the one for you to meet! I am not joking.

Just a forewarning, I’m going to steal a few words from her blog post concerning the Liebster award to give you an idea of what it is. In her words: “Liebster is a German word that encompasses the following meanings: dearest, sweetest, kindest, lovely, and valued. Wow. Nominating someone for the Leibster is like giving credit to someone who has a blog that you would like to give credit to and bring attention to. It’s a way that we, small-fry bloggers, can cheer each other on.”

What a fun way to share blogs and encourage blogger’s hearts as we continue on this LONG {wonderful} journey of writing. So, there are a few things that I have to do in order to accept this nomination and then extend it to others. What a fun thing to share around!

So, here we go. I am required to share 5 interesting facts about myself. We will just plow through these as fast as possible, because…who wants to take time to read this, right?! 🙂 And then I have to answer 5 questions given to me by the blogger who nominated me. So, off we go!

5 FUN Facts about Sierra {or maybe just 5 Facts about me…:)}

1) When I was 13, I wanted to be a FAMOUS theatrical performer and make people laugh and cry as I acted out all sorts of dramas on stage. While I still enjoy performing, I’m glad I decided against this direction!

2) I am TERRIBLE at math. Multiplication. Division. Even the addition of numbers bigger than 10 throws me for a loop. I think in words not numbers.

3) Every Monday and Wednesday, I teach Literature to a small Jr. High class. I always ask the question, “What is one thing that you found interesting and/or annoying about this story?” I get very good answers and ones that make me think, “Ah, these kids can comprehend very well.” It’s encouraging, and I thoroughly enjoy my time with all 4 of them as we laugh, talk, and work our way through stories.

4) I try to reserve all my hot coffee drinking for the weekend. Though I fail, almost every Wednesday night, because they supply wonderful coffee for our short fellowship time at church! It just smells and looks so good……

5) My dream house would be a cute little farmhouse with a garden. But since I grew up in the desert, I probably have a black thumb…or whatever the opposite color of the green thumb is. Oh well.

5 Questions for Sierra (nominees, answer these as well!)

Why do you you blog?

I write to glorify God by consistently communicating His truths for exhortation. I know, that seems like a lot of HUGE words. But truly, my mission, my purpose is to write for Christ, for His glory, and to “stir the souls” of others to actively live for Christ. I do this through short stories, essays, challenging thoughts, or simply just lessons that I am learning myself. Of course, I also write lighter posts in between many of those, but even in that, I seek to please God for what is written here.

What are your spiritual gifts?

I recently took a spiritual gift test with 100+ questions to it and found one of my primary strengths was exhortation. While there are many strong, motivating things about this gift, there are weaknesses that I need to watch for. I find them popping up in my life and must continually identify them and navigate back to truth.

What was your favorite class in college?

I didn’t go to college, but I did take a few college courses along the way even as I taught myself how to blog,  how to better use WordPress, and how to plunge through the pros and cons of sharing on social media! It’s been quite the learning experience for me! My favorite college class that I have taken would be Speech. It was in that class that I learned how to write an organized outline before presenting a speech. I had never truly applied the wonders of outlining until that class, and found it to be incredibly valuable. Outlining seemed to help me organize quite a few parts of my life, so completely worth it!

From where does your inspiration for writing come?

My inspiration from writing comes from little things that I see throughout the day or snippets of phrases that I hear people say. I gather ideas from small moments like a butterfly on the ground, or a 5 year-old saying, “We are supposed to love persons, right?” I hear a sentence and my mind jumps several paragraphs into a story that I could write. I jot the idea down or store the phrase in that deep file room and save it for when I am able to write it. But I also believe in writing even when I am “uninspired”. A writer doesn’t write only when she feels it. I used to do that, but then I’d go months without writing. I have forced myself to write almost every day and can hardly go a week without putting words down somewhere. It is possible that what I write will not just affect this generation, but the one after it. And that is exciting.

Who do you look up to and why?

Well, cliche or not, I look up to my mom. She is faithful, kind, thoughtful, and all around FUN. She has taught me so much about life just by living her own…and of course taking every opportunity available to give me a quick life lesson! Where would I be without her?! She is one of the wisest people I know, one of the most dedicated, and one of the most supportive. There’s never been a day that she hasn’t smiled. And maybe there was, but I have never seen it. She is just such a good example. I want to be like her when I grow up.

Aha! Now for my own nominations. First, here are the rules (if you can):

  • post the award on your blog
  • offer thanks and a link back to the blog/blogger who nominated you
  • share five random facts about yourself
  • nominate five other bloggers who you believe deserve the award and have less than 500 followers
  • answer the questions and ask five of your own

My nominations are:

Ashely from A Lovely Life: It’s always fun to find a young gal who’s plunging into the blogging world and writing about God! I love reading what she has to say and she truly writes gentle words of encouragement though she isn’t afraid to throw you a challenge. I like that. She also writes book reviews! Which is something that I hope to do occasionally. So, definitely go see what she has to say!

Abi from AJS: She is a writer, younger than me, who can put any sort of story into beautiful words. I have seen her write emotions varying from tragedy to love to just simple life & growing up. She writes in a wide range of emotions, but she does it well. I love reading what she has to write. You will too!

Wynter from Made to Mother: I enjoy reading her blog, because she does all sorts of blog series from all sorts of mothers ranging from adoptive mothers to teenage mothers. I have eagerly awaited her to share the next post in a series that I found particularly helpful and enlightening. You will get a wide range of posts from her concerning motherhood.

Betty from She Chose Joy: I am not sure how I stumbled upon her blog, but she writes a wide range of topics from infertility, to adoption, to fitness. Yup. She covers all of those! Her ability to write in depth and normal life is pretty cool.

Miriam from A Rearranged Life: I am new to this blog, but Miriam has a certain way with words that allows you to peak into her life as a special needs mom. And through her words, you see God’s abundant grace.

Well, it’s been fun to be nominated and receive that online high-five! 🙂 I would have nominated Karen AGAIN, but I don’t think that is allowed in the rules. Ah, well. I’m just thankful for Karen and the fun Friday happiness that she brought to me.

May we all write to glorify God and Him alone as we endeavor to share our words with others.

Leave a Reply

