Be Still, My Soul

be stillThe last couple of weeks have been very crazy. Between packing, planning, and closing out a busy year of school…..my life has been mad, mad, mad.

Mad in the best possible way.

Of course…not always. Yesterday, I was ripping apart at the seams. Relying on my own strength, focusing on all the wrong things. God was the furthest things from my tired mind.

Even the most wayward mind can be turned quickly. How I love that God brings me back every time.

Lately when I open my Bible to read, my heart yearns for Psalms 46.

God is our Refuge and Strength, a very present help in trouble.

Therefore we will not fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; 

Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah. 

And my tired soul receives the words as balm over the wounds of a day so busy, so hectic, so stressful, and fast. Covering every crevice of my heart.

The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our Refuge. Selah.

Come, behold the works of the Lord, what desolation He hath made in the earth.

He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; He breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; He burneth the chariot in fire. 

The whole of my world slows down, because I remember again Who is important….my reason for life.

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.

Close out of school? Not the most important thing.

Packing for my future home? Not the most important thing.

Planning for our wedding day? Not the most important thing.

Time with God, my Savior, my El Roi? The most important thing.

And as I am still….as I begin to know Him more, the other details of my life will fall together.

Intimately knowing God will always be the most important need of my life.

It’s easy to forget when life is mad, mad, mad.

But to forget is misery. 

To know God, to yearn for Him, that is joy beyond the madness. That is stability when the whole of my world has begun this busy, beautiful change.

Be still, my soul.

Be still, and know.

3 thoughts on “Be Still, My Soul

  1. Josh Cajiiat says:

    Sierra, thank you. I needed this! This year has been oh so crazy! This year since the year began I got a girlfriend, moved to San Diego, got a joined a brand new church, broke up with my girlfriend, and early this morning or late last night lost my grandfather. This year has been tough! But the most important thing is staying close to God and his word. The days after Jenna and I broke up I must have read Psalm 119 four or five times all 176 verses! But the most encouraging are verses 49-80.

    • SierravBrock says:

      You are welcome, Josh. 🙂 It sounds as though God has drawn you to Himself in some very trying ways. It’s some of these times when you realize that you wouldn’t trade them for anything because you KNOW it brought you intimately closer to God. Still difficult, but somehow comforting all at once! God is good! I’m still learning to be still && to value my time with God above anything else. Thank you for your comment. It was encouraging to me!

Leave a Reply

