Life Update! | 06.16

First of all, we are halfway through 2016! We have already lived 6 months of what had been the new year. How can it be?!

Without further ado, let’s get to the month of June! It has been an entire month since we moved away from Chico. It was our first full month of new jobs, new responsibilities, new house, new friends, old friends, and a thousand and one adjustments!

Week4HereWeGo

There have been bumps and bruises, but every change in life comes with a few hard things. However, it has been so wonderful as well! I love being back at work. I love serving alongside others who are passionate about our Creator. I love the rich fellowship that seems to come at almost every corner! Transition is hard, but it has been full of so many good things too!

My new job is fantastic. Watching little kids grow is a privilege, teaching them is a great responsibility, and being around them is a deep joy. πŸ™‚ I’ve spent the last month getting readjusted to my job and settled into all the new responsibilities. I’m happy to report that we have a very functional schedule that we all enjoy each day!

WednesdayShoes

June is also the season for wildflowers which means my thoughtful husband took his chance to pick me some. Hand-picked flowers are the best! I think in another life my husband could have been a successful florist. πŸ™‚ This photo was taken in our new kitchen. I’m not ready to show you the whole thing, but here is a little part of it!

wildflowers

For 3 days a week, I also work in the camp’s coffee shop. I have really enjoyed this! Last year, I found myself experimenting in the kitchen with coffee quite often, so it’s extra fun to find myself doing it here with a real espresso machine! I think know I want one. This is the white blended mocha that I ordered after work one day! πŸ™‚ Umm…it is so good.

friendsandcoffee

We have also been able to entertain guests. There is nothing more wonderful than making your guests coffee and having rich fellowship together. I’m thankful for friends who don’t mind if the house is only partially finished. I’m thankful for friends who want to spend time with us even in the disarray. Despite the messes, things are coming together slowly. πŸ™‚

guests

One day, I found these wildflowers in my windowsill trying to hide the work ladder that has been hanging around. It reminds me that change takes time, but there is lovely through the whole process. I just have to intentionally see it.

weekendwildflowers

In mid-June, I hit a point of exhaustion and got very sick. I left work and spent the rest of the day recovering. All the moving, transitioning, and living caught up to me and I had to take time to rest and recover. After doing so, I felt much better—even better than I had before I was sick!

Here are some other things that happened this month:

My husband passed his food-handlers/management test (yippee!). We introduced Dutch Bros coffee to 3 people. We ate incredible sushi. Ben surprised me with Dutch Bros coffee on a cloudy day. I’ve picked wildflowers with friends.

Ben and I have taken lovely walks with our dogs. I’ve finished another short series for my new column with Leading Young Women to Hope ministries. And we’ve accomplished small projects in our second home…such as hanging our red curtain….finally. πŸ™‚

homesweet2ndhome

Last week, Ben and I went up to Chico to take Toby ( aka our foster dog) back to Ben’s parents. They are traveling to their home and returning our affectionate Toby boy to his rightful owner. Ben’s brother who will be thrilled to have Toby back. πŸ™‚

I’m excited for that, but I’ll miss having Toby around and good ole Frankie Tom might be a bit mopey for a week or so while he adjusts to not having his “big brother” around. Here’s a photo for old time’s sake. πŸ™‚

bestfriendsforever

We were also able to pick fresh nectarines and peaches while we were in Chico. Ben introduced me to this real, fresh fruit thing when we were dating in summer of 2013! It’s even better now that we are married. πŸ™‚

Summer 2013

freshfruit2013

Summer 2016

freshfruit

It just gets better, folks!

I hope you’ve had a wonderful June! If I can leave you with one thought than it’d be this: Never be afraid of taking big life steps!

We scare ourselves all the time and wonder how we are gonna do it. But God gives strength and joy! We never have to wait for it, we just have to ask for it & embrace it. I walked into our first home last week and you know what? It didn’t even feel like home. God helps us through all the changes in life and gives us joy. He even helps make a new place feel like home.

Don’t hesitate to take that big, scary, necessary step in life. God is with you! Trust Him.

HAPPY JULY!

Leave a Reply

