You Have Permission to Be Brave

You have permission to be brave she said while she watched my tears fall heavy and sore. You have permission to be brave she said while she held my stiff, sad body. You have permission to be brave she said while she cried along with me. You have permission to be brave she said while we shared our deep, hidden struggles.

And without any words, she gave me permission to be brave. Because sometimes brave means opening your heart. And sometimes brave means being vulnerable. Brave often means breaking down in weakness and seeking comfort in His Truth

And letting her lead you back to Courage and Hope.

Sometimes brave means handing her some of the burden. And brave always means casting these feelings, heartaches, trials, and struggles on God. O to be brave my small heart beats! O to be brave, my soul crumbles!

You are brave she said while she led me back to Truth. You are brave she said while she told me about fearlessness. You are brave she said while she watched me resolve my heart in God again. You are brave not because of you, but because you have God.

Brave because I have God, my small heart beats! Oh brave because of God, my soul sings!

And then some weeks pass and I am cautiously courageous standing in the hope of God. I fall flat, but rise up again. And there are words to a beautiful song,

"Even if the dreams I had turned to dust. 
There’s no wreckage that’s too broken to rebuild.
The world is just as scary as I thought it was. 
But your love makes me braver still.” 

 These words run balm over the weary, brave heart. For it is God and God alone that my heart hopes, rests, and lives. I lie down crushed again, but then, “Why are thou cast down, O my soul! Why art thou disquieted within me? HOPE in God!”

And I am brave again.

Brave because I have broken down in God.

Brave because I no longer carry my heart alone.

You have permission to be brave I say as I hold your heart to mine. You have permission to be brave I say as I tell you that big heartache or small can find rest in God. You have permission to be brave I say as I remind you that God is your Hope, Rest, and Life. You have permission to be brave all because of God.

We can be braver still, you and me.

We can be brave in God alone.


share:

 

Braver StillJJ Heller

Psalms 43:5

A Story of Hope

 

2 thoughts on “You Have Permission to Be Brave

Leave a Reply

